Summer solstice 2012

Summer solstice is time when Sun changes it’s light spectrum to a lower one. Before summer solstice there is a slight movement of the earth to the sun, except for equator regions, because of that sunlight is more to the violet spectrum rather than red. After solstice sun is again moving away, that is, our northern hemisphere is moving away (it does not apply to equator and it is vice versa in southern hemisphere). Violet spectrum gives more of “magic” ultraviolet light, that gives unique properties to the plants, that is why many ancient (sometimes called “pagan”) cultures held very important to collect healing plants on June 20, 21, when they got the most of it. After the solstice magic light goes away, but it shifts to infrared, which is a heat. Doppler shift. We get hot July and even August is warmer compared to a corresponding May. It often snows in April but it never does in September and sometimes even not in October.

A few days before summer solstice I graduated Ērgļi logbuilding school. I was not so good with chainsaw, but my knowledge about building rules and wood properties was not so bad, so I passed the final exam. Next step for me is to find tools and do it myself for some time. A few months of practice is not enough. Sometimes it’s good, sometimes it’s not. It took me more than ten years to learn violin to an extent where I admited that I can play it. It might be the same with any other craft. I hope with logbuilding it will be faster. The biggest deal is to lift the logs, so no mistakes allowed. I did not participate in graduation ceremony, so our supervisor Inguna sent us diplomas by mail later. Exactly after exam I went to a bus station and never saw Ērgļi again.

When I reached Riga highway I had to wait for another bus for almost an hour. So I decided to go to the next stop by foot and hitchhike again. I walked some 8 km when some young driver stopped. I got very close to home, where he had to turn away, but it was alright because some russian guy stopped. He was a tipical russian – very helpful and very rude. He screamed to me, yes, yes, but to get inside a car faster. I didn’t even close the door properly. I needed a third lift however and I got lucky to stop a neighbour from my parents Alūksne home in town. So I hitchhiked on the wings of luck and happiness to the doors of my childhood home.

Now the summer is ahead of me. A time to cut grass.

About Pavels Melnis

Independent ecology activist, family farmer, gardener and forestkeeper. Musician: violin, guitar, singing. Hobbies: traveling by bicycle, learning to play different music instruments - accordion, piano, recorder flute, harmonica, drums; languages, theology, prehistory, logbuilding, repairing and recycling. Religious. Ecological. Love all things ethnic and traditional.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

