Time to plant, it’s late spring

I was at school but I managed to sneak away for some time to plant my potatoes, beans and peas. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of the three small fields that I made. To the left there is old asbest roof material. I’m trying to block weed by it. In the middle you see light section – so it works. I am thinking of something else because this asbest is a messy and heavy thing. Some even say its radioactive. There is special black celulose film at shops, but it costs some. So I use what I have. I am thinking of placing some compost over places where I plan to dig next time so it will be both fertilizing and weed preventing.

To the most right there is a strangly greener section. This is rye. It was planted last autum after potatoes and was there under the snow all winter.

Being away for to long is not a good idea for a farmer. Later on in August weed took over my garden, then snails came, then wild pigs. I was not smart enough to use some ash against snails, so I lost my harvest this year, but there was still enough left to plant in the next year. This time I will definetly make some fence against wild pigs as well. As soon as hunting season begins they strike back at potatoe fields. It’s impossible to explain poor animals that I am vegetarian and not a hunter.

Hunter tower

About Pavels Melnis

Independent ecology activist, family farmer, gardener and forestkeeper. Musician: violin, guitar, singing. Hobbies: traveling by bicycle, learning to play different music instruments - accordion, piano, recorder flute, harmonica, drums; languages, theology, prehistory, logbuilding, repairing and recycling. Religious. Ecological. Love all things ethnic and traditional.
This entry was posted in Organic Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

