Biologically valuable grasslands – another chase for EU support. July 2012.

Ministry of agriculture announced that it is possible to apply to be inspected for biological diversity in the fields. In case they admit the field as valuable, I might receive additional money, which would help me pay the land tax and maybe buy animals sooner.

I tried to go through this procedure already before, but was always rejected, though I never met inspectors on my fields. So I thought it’s about what I write in my application.

First I thought that maybe I shouldn’ t apply all my fields, but only a part, so that people on the other side would not think that I am just another guy trying to make money just by owning a land. So I applied only some fields at the river.

Then I tried to expand description of the fields. Before I only wrote, that I had crex crex nesting there. That was not enough for them I guess. Some time ago I found a booklet explaining what plants are indicating biologically diverse fields. So now I took a camera and this booklet and went to identify plants in my field.

Dactylorhiza baltica Dactylorhiza baltica Platanthera bifolia (L.) Rich. Valeriana officinalis  Leontodon hispidus L. Briza media Succisa pratensis Moench purva gandrene - Geranium palustre L. Stellaria palustris Retz. Zeltainā gundega (latīņu: ranunculus auricomus; angļu: goldilocks buttercup, krievu: лютик золотистый) ziemeļu madara - Galium boreale L. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Later I found article about mistakes people make in application. So that really means they might just cancel it only by judging a paper person wrote them. Most important is, that it seems like I had to mention at least 30 different plants for a field. I did not thought so, so I might get cancelled this time, too.

These are my applications (in latvian, without maps):

20120911VEI_BVZ_pieteiksanas_auseji

20120911VEI_BVZ_pieteiksanas_vinki

I will inform you of the results after the end of summer 2013, when they finish observations. I am definetly not getting any money from this fund before autumn 2014. It of course will not change the way I shall treat my fields, so they are and will remain biologically diverse as far as they belong to me.

About Pavels Melnis

Independent ecology activist, family farmer, gardener and forestkeeper. Musician: violin, guitar, singing. Hobbies: traveling by bicycle, learning to play different music instruments - accordion, piano, recorder flute, harmonica, drums; languages, theology, prehistory, logbuilding, repairing and recycling. Religious. Ecological. Love all things ethnic and traditional.
This entry was posted in Technocracy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

