How to save socks and what to do with broken socks

Socks protect your feet from your shoes and your shoes from your feet. Before there were socks, people just wrapped linen cloth around their feet. Socks save your time, compared to cloth, but are more expensive and get holes easier.

If you are an indoors person, who does not move much, then there is no problem. From the door of the house to the door of the car, from the door of the car to the door of the office and vice versa. It will take many years to break socks like this. If you like to move, if you do physical work, if you live in a country and otherwise are more on your feet rather than your ass, then you probably have the same problem as I do. Socks get a hole quite fast, sometimes already after two weeks there is a small hole.

What to do? There is not a big financial sock crisis if you are alright to wear socks made of fossil oil materials such as polyester and elastan. They are cheap and there is not so much landfill yet on earth to become your personal problem, and who cares about children nowadays. But if you do not want to wear toxic materials, if you do not want to be the reason of the world pollution and you are good time manager enough to do some handicrafts, then your socks are much more valuable and it would be nice if they lasted longer.

Internet proposes washing socks in cold water, air drying, cutting nails so that they do not scratch the socks. Sooner or later you will get a whole. Then you can mend it, but then you get another. And if you have thin 100% cotton socks from the shop, then mending does not help at all.

My solution will scare you. It is simple and terrifying:

wear your socks downside up!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

or pull them down from up to cover the heel, I don’t know how to explain, just see the picture

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It looks ugly, no doubt. But it is better than having your socks in trashcan. Of course, you must avoid people seeing it, depending on what kind of people you have around you. Even some of my eco-people friends had scared faces, when they first saw me wearing socks upside down and holes shining towards the sky. Sometimes I take spare new socks with me and I changed them after a walk secretly, so when I get somewhere my socks are brand new, but as soon as I have to walk again, I put on socks with some “ventilation” on top.

I remember the time when there was emo movement and they made holes in their socks intentionally as a fashion trend. Now I cannot find any picture in google though.  I do not think I am emo, but I am sure, that I do not remember the last time I bought socks and the last time I threw some out. For some reason socks get one or two holes in some weeks, but then they can last for months if you are alright to wear them upside down.

Option number two is – footcloths or footwraps. Easiest way to make one is to combine any cloth with any sock, even broken. First goes cloth, then the sock, which will hold the cloth. Otherwise it is necessary to learn how to wrap the footwraps.

About Pavels Melnis

Independent ecology activist, family farmer, gardener and forestkeeper. Musician: violin, guitar, singing. Hobbies: traveling by bicycle, learning to play different music instruments - accordion, piano, recorder flute, harmonica, drums; languages, theology, prehistory, logbuilding, repairing and recycling. Religious. Ecological. Love all things ethnic and traditional.
This entry was posted in Technocracy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

