Toilet splash free water closet

I hope I don’t have to explain, what is a Toilet Splash (Toilet Splashback).

First time in my life I experienced it in 1998, when I came to London. It was my first trip to civilized Europe. I noticed, that toilets are different so, that everything falling down there gets immediately into the water to prevent smell. “How smart,” thought I while sitting down, but as soon as “the cannon fired”, I understood the advantages of old good soviet pots. Fortunately the water was blue of chlorum, so no infection could be possible. Nevertheless, few years later Latvians started to do the so called Euroremount (European renovation of appartment), which included changing of toilet pots.

I accepted it until one of my female friends who lived in student dormitories told, that she has a sexually transmissive disease without any logical reason. She is an unmarried catholic, I hope it explains and I hope you can imagine her feelings. I went to the toilet there and saw that it was incredibly dirty and flushing didn’t really help to flush, because inside was clogged with toilet paper. This is when I understood, that toilet splash should be avoided and I started to think for solution.

In the beginning I tried different postures, so that the things wouldn’t go directly into the water. It didn’t help. In public toilets I saw that I was not the only one, because sometimes place looked like somebody had a dynamite with. Not sitting down to be higher also didn’t help, because the splash also was getting higher. I gave up thinking when I came to a conclusion, that flushing two times – before sitting down and after is the only thing I can do at least to prevent infection.

Not long ago I came to an idea, that in order to reduce bad smell, flushing has to be done as soon as possible instead of flushing only after dropping the toilet paper down. At some point I noticed, when I flush during “firing a cannon” – there is no toilet splash. It is of course a bit of “yoga” to sit, do the thing and have a finger on a flush trigger at the same time. Anyway, simultaneous flushing reduced the bad smell and the occurrence of toilet splash. It is also worth learning to push the flushing button just slightly, so that water would flow slower and longer time, because some pots might splash with a flush, too.

About Pavels Melnis

Independent ecology activist, family farmer, gardener and forestkeeper. Musician: violin, guitar, singing. Hobbies: traveling by bicycle, learning to play different music instruments - accordion, piano, recorder flute, harmonica, drums; languages, theology, prehistory, logbuilding, repairing and recycling. Religious. Ecological. Love all things ethnic and traditional.
Aside | This entry was posted in Technocracy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

