Prayer for Standing Rock

Introduction (see the end of article for prayer itself):

I always believed in a power of prayer. I admit, it depends on a person. Be it muscle strength or strength of a prayer, it is about practice, how strong you get. This is the way established by God, the creator of universe and, if there is nothing good left in it, annihilator.

I follow the struggle of Standing Rock Sioux Tribe against corporate greed in United States, where oil enterprises plan to build an oil pipe through the homeland of these people. I believe, the reason why the pipe cannot be planned left or right away from this sacred land is greed of investors. Oil industry pollutes everything where it is starting from mining site and ending with an exhaust pipe of your car.

I live in Latvia, far away from Standing Rock, and I cannot attend events taking place there now. I cannot afford to call the officials of the United States to express my opinion. I can only give up driving a car, give up plastic goods or goods packaged in plastic, I can give up synthetic clothes, because they are made of oil. I can give up food that is grown using nitrogen fertilizer, which is made using natural gas from oil drilling sites. But there is one thing that I can do on their request.

I can pray together with people of Standing Rock for Mother Earth and for clean water.

Here is a link to Standing Rock prayer announcement of December 11 prayer event:

https://www.facebook.com/events/1877139975850233/

I would like to publish my prayer here. I understand that this is against teachings of Christ, that religious practice should not be a showoff. But I would like to make exception. I think that if someone reads my prayer, it might receive extra strength. Jesus Christ told on the other hand, that his followers should be the light of  the Earth. And the light should not be placed under a table, but rather be on a table, so that all room could be enlightened. I do not pray for a new motorbike, career development or miraculous healing of my illnesses. I pray for common good and the good of the Supreme Creators work results, so I believe, it can be open. Here is my prayer. Please, read it and pay attention to the current events at Standing Rock. Take action, if you can.

Dear God, the Supreme Creator and Annihilator of universe, the One above my understanding. You created this Mother Earth and life on it. You govern it and you are the Supreme Lord here just as anywhere else in universe. You gave us wisdom how to live and take care of life on Earth. I pray to You to pay attention to what is Yours, for Your magnificent work of creation on this Earth is gradually defiled and destroyed by people of greed and desire. Humanity is obsessed with burning “the blood of serpents”. People learned to extract crude oil from deep under the ground. There is invisible force that supports the spread of use of items made of crude oil. People dress in serpent blood (polyester, polyamide garments) and even grow food out of it (nitrogen and sulfur fertilizer, pesticides). Crude oil gives individuals great power to destroy. I pray to You to protect life on Earth by creating obstacles for crude oil industry. I pray to You for decline of its rule on Your Earth. I especially pray to You to bless people of Sioux tribe, who are now protesting building of an oil pipe in their homeland at Standing Rock. You gave this land to their ancestors long time ago and they keep it to this day with respect to life You have created and put there. This is the way they obey You and show respect to You. Give them your strength and send Your Watchers and Your Holy Spirit to help them protect the water, that is essential to all life, from pollution that will result from building a crude oil pipe. You have once prevented the towers of Babylon to be built. Now it is time for oil pipes and all industry. Show the power of Your rule and give us hope that you have not abandoned people devoted to You. I am awaiting for life without crude oil. Life thriving, simple and humble, where the only notable power is You, Lord.

About Pavels Melnis

Independent ecology activist, family farmer, gardener and forestkeeper. Musician: violin, guitar, singing. Hobbies: traveling by bicycle, learning to play different music instruments - accordion, piano, recorder flute, harmonica, drums; languages, theology, prehistory, logbuilding, repairing and recycling. Religious. Ecological. Love all things ethnic and traditional.
This entry was posted in Sermons, Church, Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

